Melbourne University Rugby Football Club (MURFC) is a foundation Club of the Victorian Rugby Union and has been an active participant since 1909 in the Victorian Premier Division, which is the leading level of rugby in Melbourne.

MURFC fields 4 teams in the Senior Divisions across First, Second, Third, and Fourth Grades, in addition to a Colts (U21) team and an over 35’s “Gents” team.

Our coaching group is led by Jason Jones and supported by High performance manager Josh Philpot.

Relationships with Australian Universities

MURFC is currently developing further linkages with Sydney University Rugby Club and also the University of Queensland and Canberra University.

The club has in recent years provided teams to the tri-Universities tournament. This allows players the opportunity for selection in the Australian Universities team. Student members are also eligible for the annual Australian University Games competition. This includes all tertiary institutions in addition to Melbourne University. Most past players would say this was the highlight of their rugby career.

Peter Hone Rugby Scholarship

Two $1,000 rugby scholarships will be offered for 2011. They are to assist in the educational and career development of MURFC rugby players. Applicants must be studying in 2011 at Melbourne University or any other post-secondary institution. If you are interested, download:

For further information contact Ian Gillies, Chairman Peter Hone Rugby Scholarship Fund, by email at or by phone on 0414 235-002.

MUSA sports scholarships and grants are also available to students. For more information and an application form, refer to the website

Non Students

You dont have to be a student to join MURFC. The Club has people from all walks of life and welcomes diversity in its playing ranks.

We also offer professional development opportunities for non-students.

The ClubHouse

The MURFC Clubhouse includes purpose built change rooms, a club room with Foxtel on the big screen and regular social activities,